Weight Loss Journey Part 7

Good Day Beautiful Soul’s! 🙂 Hope everyone had a great weekend.

My weekend was getting more posts together for you lovely chicks and dudes, while catching up on some classwork online.

So far I lost 5 pounds and that is a great start -for me. 🙂 It’s not huge, but I know it will be more in a 2-3 months. Especially if I continue my exercise regime and using my “Strict Diabetic Diet” guidelines per my Endocrinologist, which are basically that I eat (3) meals a day that consist only of 45 grams of Carbs and (2) snacks that are under 15 grams of Carbs. This seems very strict, but it is actually something that even non-diabetic people should follow. In America, we tend to overeat and be overweight/obese because of the portions that we eat. Keep in mind to that if you do not READ the Nutrition labels, watching those calories and carbs will do no justice. Who wants high blood pressure and water weight?

Here is a challenge when you go out to eat with friends or family:

Either share your meal and split the bill, or if it is just toooooo’ good to share, then ask for your “To-go” box when your food comes out and save some for lunch, or dinner tomorrow. It’s hard, but I’m going to do it and I want you to do it with me. Some diseases ARE preventable and being at the unhappy weight you are now is sometimes preventable.

My biggest challenge is emotional eating and being ashamed of it. I have had that issue even growing up in high school, but then i was so good at hiding it, or being in activities daily at school that I was able to keep my weight from going up so far. I was listening to family members who would tell me how fat I was and how big my legs were and for that very same reason today I admire those women who are in shape with “big booty’s and big thighs”. I want to keep mine and happy with that part of me. Now, I have a man, kids, school, relationships with friends and family, and hell- LIFE. We all know that can be stressful. 🙂 My life currently is dealing with proving to myself and family that I am capable of having a successful career, the ups and downs of maintaining a HEALTHY relationship with my Significant Other,and- while sometimes dealing with the emotion of my mom dying almost 4 months ago. That makes me want to eat everything ALL day, Every day. I and you, if youre dealing with emotional eating, have to find other positive ways to deal with the situation. Sometimes I blog, as Im doing now, to keep urges at bay. 🙂

On another note, while on Metformin, it is definitely helping me with my urges to eat if i take it while eating at dinner(5-6ish PM). I have felt like i couldnt put anything else to my mouth on this medication, which is a good thing for me. The not so nice thing about this medication is that you better be near a bathroom at least 30-60 min after you eat..Im serious. ;P

It has made me nauseous sometimes and leaves this weird taste in mouth similar to the one i had when i was pregnant. Those things do not mix. LOL. My blood sugars have been running pretty good with the lowest being 96 in the morning and the highest around lunch at 173, and that’s because i ate two bowls of Corn Flakes w/ regular sugar. Yep, not so good. Other than that Im getting a better grip on controlling my numbers. Now i just need a variety of foods to eat to satisfy my appetite.

I hope this post today has helped someone out there and if you ever need to talk about your emotional eating, email me at randommixedchick@gmail.com or leave me a comment below.

Peace and Blessings,

Random Mixed Chick

Here is a photo of me at about 212 lbs. almost 2 weeks ago after working out at the gym.

gym

2 thoughts on “Weight Loss Journey Part 7

  1. I always associated emotional-eating with something bad going on in your life but does it also apply to good things? If so, I might be guilty. I love to eat while a favorite show is on (even if I got the DVD). Especially ice cream.

    • That’s a good question…. I think you can emotionally eat in celebration, but I think youre going to be more conscious of how much youre consuming, especially if youre out in public. When youre behing closed doors..no one can see you or judge you…but you.

Leave a Reply

