My Love Patches….an Alopecia Inspired Post <3

Hello Blessed One’s,

I have battled since i discovered my “patches” about sharing this portion of my life’s journey. But…because everyone knows that i connect through “over-sharing” some things, I decided that I wouldnt live in fear of what others may think, or say.

Here goes…I have Alopecia.

According to the National Alopecia Areata Foundation,

“Alopecia areata is a common disease that results in the loss of hair on the scalp and elsewhere on the body. There are three types of alopecia areata; alopecia areata, alopecia totalis and alopecia universalis.

Alopecia areata, the most common variation of the autoimmune disease, presents itself as round, smooth patches of various sizes.

In all forms of alopecia areata, the hair follicles remain alive and are ready to resume normal hair production whenever they receive the appropriate signal. In all cases, hair re-growth may occur even without treatment and even after many years.

Alopecia areata occurs in males and females of all ages and races; however, onset most often begins in childhood and can be psychologically devastating. Although not life-threatening, alopecia areata is most certainly life-altering, and its sudden onset, recurrent episodes, and unpredictable course have a profound psychological impact on the lives of those disrupted by this disease. But there is hope. In all cases, hair re-growth may occur even without treatment and even after many years.”   National Alopecia Areata Foundation

I found out that I had a bald spot one night at the beginning of July 2014 when I was combing through my hair. I thought I was going a little crazy at first because i had never had spots before in my head. I kind of came to tears and began to panic. I began texting pictures to friends and family..which they told me to calm down about. I asked if this was lupus, even cancer…because i just didnt understand how hair could just go missing. I did the only thing I heard and knew how to do. I “laid hands” on my bald spot. Now…. to non-spiritual people, “laying hands” would seem silly, but from where Im from its common. I figured if people could pray over other people, then surely prayer could help a bald spot. The next few days I make a dermatologist appointment with the sweetest doctor I know( Shout out to Dr. Love of Montgomery Al.). In my free time, i began inundating my mind with different websites and videos..trying to self diagnose myself before my appointment. I was sure it had to be the hair products I was using even as a natural. I made up my mind that no matter what I had inflicting my scalp, that I would try to make my own natural hair products, just in case.

1404447319266 1403465361492

Mid-July arrives when its time for me to meet with Dr.Love. She and the nurse examine my scalp….as im waiting for the news. She lets me know that I have Alopecia Areata. Also, she alerts me that I have two other spots in the back of my head With a raised freckle(she cuts it from my scalp to test for cancer…results came back..and it is non cancerous). She explains that it is an autoimmune disease and sometimes it can come when the person is under severe stress. I started to think ” hmmmm….I have been under a lot of personal stress lately…”. She told me try to eliminate the stress, get a massage, and go forth with receiving the steroid injections to stimulate my hair growth. I wasn’t scared about a needle going into my scalp because 1.) Im a diabetic and 2.) I want my hair to grow back. I did it. 🙂

It is now mid- August, my hair is sprouting some new hair and im excited! She said it would take at least 3 months for hair to begin growing. For a few weeks I was fearful to wear it down. I was on a trip to New Orleans and asked my sister to do a “bald spot check” periodically. I was nervous that my “spots” would go noticed. Sometimes, people can be vicious and say mean things.

I remind myself daily that my testimony and my journey isnt just for me, but it is for someone else. I cant Not share my experience ,because someone else may be about to go through, or is going through what I am going through in life.

This is my first step to accepting that Im going to HAVE to LOVE my 3 patches…because their now an extension of me. It is also a reminder to not put energy into pointless places, or people.

If it feels like stress….SLOWLYYYYYY back away…no actually RUN away. You dont have to subject yourself to a stressful situation-EVER.It doesnt matter if its a job-Pray and Fast for a new one, if its a spouse- try to work it out, but dont kill yourself doing it, and if its family/friends-love them from a distance, etc.

I will give an update towards the end of the month about my progress.

PS. Olive oil and/or Jamaican Black castor oil works well and is a natural way to help with Alopecia. Also, water/lavender essential oil is great for growing hair, I’ve noticed, and it makes your hair smell Awesome!! ❤  Rosemary apparently helps with Alopecia, too.

IMG_20140820_013430_799

Peace and Blessings,

Random Mixed Chick

Leave a Reply

